New Chairman at Wilberfoss AFC


(Pictured: New Chairman Mark Newby & First Team Manager Brian Walker)

Following Saturday’s Annual General Meeting it has been confirmed that Mark Newby will take over as Club Chairman. Newby takes over from the departing Chris Wills who did a fantastic job guiding the club through some troubled times. On departing Wills commented ‘I’m delighted to be passing the club over whilst we are on such a high and I can’t think of a better man to take over. Mark has been a great asset to the club at committee level over the past 12 months and his financial investment into the club has been vital and has ensured this super club has a great future ahead’

Newby comes with a wealth of knowledge at the helm of a football club having successfully chaired Stamford Bridge Junior Football Club for many years previously during which he help generate sizeable lottery grants, whilst obtaining further land for new pitches and training areas with changing rooms. He confirmed that further funds will be invested into the club for the 2016/17 season via his business Yew Tree Associates and he plans to drive the club forward as they look to continue on last seasons efforts.

Other changes on the board see Dave Laverack take over from Brian Walker as Secretary and Oliver Newby replacing Robin Walker as Treasurer. In addition the Vice-Chairman role held by Bill Carter is to be relinquished.

The club would like to thank all those departing members for their time & effort involving Wilberfoss AFC.