Pre Season Update.

Pre Season Results Update.



Saturday 15th August saw both the First Team and Reserve Teams in action.

Bri Walkers 1st team took on the newly formed New York WMC who were a very strong outfit benefiting from a number of former York Premier League players. With a high level of senior players missing the squad was reshaped and set up with a 4-2-3-1 formation. Walker brought in Reserve Team Captain & Son Paul Walker into the back four along side his solid and ever reliable younger brother Robin. Captain Oliver Newby was asked to play a deeper more disciplined role along with Jake Whitty protecting the defence. In additon the new look side played with four attacking players with the exciting youngster Sam Gibney playing alongside Jono Parkin & Simon Houlder. Jimmy Haughian was selected as a lone target man and after 20 mins found himself one on one with the keeper after a good passing move to calmly slot the ball home.

The Foss fans were still celebrating their goal when the New York left back played a 40 yard long ball catching out the Foss defence to allow the centre forward far too much time to smash the ball home past the despairing Rich Cole in goal.

Foss controlled large parts of the 1st half but went into the half time interval at honours even.

At half time Brian Walker brought on Andrew Haigh replacing Chris Turpin and Paul Walker was asked to revert to his more usual left back position. Again Foss started well keeping possession well and the ever lively right back Tom Chelin getting forward to support attacks at every given opportunity.

On 70 minutes Newby played a ball in behind the New York defence which Houlder latched on to only to bundled to the ground by the left back. In astonishment the penalty was not given as ref Mel Deighton waved play on and Wilberfoss were nearly caught on the break by a quick counter attack.

The New York Keeper pulled of a string of superb saves to keep the game level and of particular note was a world class save from a Jono Parkin free kick low to his left which had the Foss fans groaning in disbelief as he tipped it around the post for a corner.

Parkin, Houlder and Haighian all wasted good chances to score before another strange refereeing decision saw a Jono Parkin goal disallowed.

The Foss pressure finally paid in the 85th minute with introduction on youth player Sam MacAllister. After great movement from MacAllister he out foxed the New York centre back and was bundled to the ground. Parkin confidently stepped up sending the keeper the wrong way and finally getting his well deserved goal.

Final Result: Wilberfoss 2 – 1 New York WMC

MOM: Tom Chelin. Never missed a tackle, Superb attacking play and quality delivery.


Paul Jacques young reserves took on a very physical and experienced Holme Rovers losing 4-1. Foss matched their opponents for large parts of the game but with Rovers a number weeks ahead of Jacques men in terms of pre season games their fitness finally told.

Jacques introduced Sam MacAllister in the second half and his sharp turn and powerful shot in of the underside of the bar was a highlight and provided why he had early been given an opportunity by 1st Team manager Brian Walker.

Manager Paul Jacques was delighted with the effort shown from his boys however they were unable to match their superior opponents but took many positives from the game.

Final Result: Wilberfoss 1 – 4 Holme Rovers

MOMRichard Tinson Snr – Returning for a second spell at the club Tinson showed his calm, class & experience on the ball bring many younger players into the game.


A Wilberfoss XI are in action in the Mike Morris Cup this evening drawing Pocklington Town game held at The Balk, Pocklington – Kick Off 6.30pm. 1st Team assistant Manager Ben Watson has chosen a strong XI with Kieron O’Brien & Mark Willoughby returning to the side alongside a number of youngsters who will be given their opportunity in front of the watchful eye of 1st team manager Brian Walker.

Squad to be chosen from:

M. Parkin, R. Walker, R. Tipping, C. Turpin, J. Gaines, A. Haigh, J. Whitfield, M. Willoughby, K. O’Brien, C. Dodds, E. Wrightson, C. Womersley, S. Mounser, A. Newman, S. MacAllister.